The Creeping by Alexandra Sirowy [Book Review]

If you hunt for monsters, you’ll find them.”

Do you have the chills yet? If not, or even if you do, and you’re looking for a nice, eerie novel this Halloween season, The Creeping by Alexandra Sirowy, is a great way to start!

Set in small town Minnesota, Savage could just be any other place on the map. But it isn’t. It is the site of a mysterious kidnapping, where only one little girl came back. That little girl is now pre-senior year Stella. It is the eleventh anniversary of her, and Jeanie’s, kidnapping. All summer plans seem to be in order, but strange things, including another little girl murdered, begin to happen.

I had chills the first chapter in and was honestly afraid to turn my light off when I put the book down. Alexandra Sirowy’s description is fantastic and you feel as if you are in the woods with the characters. I kept expecting trees to pop up around me and to be hearing the noises that were coming from something that could not be seen.

Her homage to folk tales was wonderful. What an awful monster to think lurks in the woods of your hometown. It had to be a monster, right? What else could cause these happenings? These parts of this book were my favorites. I am very interested in folklore and creepy old stories, and this fit the bill. The last page has you wondering a lot about the blurry line between truth and fiction.

What I was a little disappointed with was the sheer amount of high school drama. I understand that this is a young adult novel (and as we all know, I love those!), but a good 150 pages into the book and nothing involving this scary monster in the woods showed up yet! I understand introducing characters that are integral to the story and giving everyone some background, but it just got ridiculous. This book could have easily been at least 100 pages shorter and nothing would have been left out. I could’ve done with some more scary in these parts, and less Mean Girls (as much as I LOVE Mean Girls).

I figured out the twist a little before it happened, but she added more to it that I did not anticipate. I enjoyed the writing and the story kept me hooked.

I was torn between liking and disliking the main character, Stella. She is not very sympathetic, even for a girl that was kidnapped when she was six. She is mean to people that are “below” her and even after she is trampled on by her “best friend” she willingly accepts her back. Zoey, that “best friend”, is very unlikeable and her attitude adjustment towards the end seemed out of character. I did not quite understand the need for Michaela and Cole, Stella’s other two friends, as they are only in the story briefly and do not really do anything for it. Sam, her main love interest, is sweet and is like finding a four leaf clover. I do not know any boy, other than Severus Snape, that held on for a girl that long.

Jeanie’s story is interesting and I would’ve liked to know more about her. You learn from Stella and the others what she was like, but I still feel there were some things left unanswered. The ending kind of goes hand-in-hand with that though: what do you believe?

Overall I enjoyed this novel and am looking forward to her next one, The Telling. You can read more about Alexandra Sirowy at her website: http://www.alexandrasirowy.com.

Leave a Reply

