The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd [Book Review]

Dead flesh and sharpened scalpels didn’t bother me. I was my father’s daughter, after all. My nightmares were made of darker things.”

 

Did that catch your attention? Make your spine tingle? Then wait till you open this book…

When I first heard of The Madman’s Daughter I KNEW I had to get my hands on it. Why you might ask? Well these fine points were at the top of the list:

 

  • Retelling: I LOVE this. I will absolutely go loony for a retelling. What is this a retelling of you might ask? Why, nothing other than The Island of Dr. Moreau by H.G. Wells. I knew this had the chance to be deliciously creepy, and it did not disappoint.
  • Remote island: After watching Lost anything with a creepy, lonely island has me clambering for it.
  • Female protagonist: I really enjoy reading when an author puts a female character in a situation that is normally only used for a male character. Well done Megan Shepherd, well done!
  • THAT COVER THOUGH: see below, need I say more?

tmd

 

I was sucked in from the first page. Juliet’s, the main character, story is tragic and has you on her side in a heartbeat. This proves effective for later, as there were times where I do not know if I could be on her side, had I been in that situation! The story first starts off in a gritty London where she has been essentially shunned from society due to her father’s scientific experiments.

 

When she finds out that her father is, in fact, alive, Juliet sets out to prove everyone wrong. Her father is not a madman, simply misunderstood! When she reaches the island is when everything starts spiraling.

 

This book will leave you wondering if you are, in fact, sane. Madness lurks in every corner of the island and there are twists and turns on every page. Some of them I had an inkling of, but went off in a different direction than I guessed. Some I may have had more fully figured out, but the reveal was still shocking! Especially that last one, oh my heart!

 

Juliet’s descent into confusion (and madness?) was very real and made you think, what would I do? The romance at times got a little tedious, but I am firmly Team Montgomery. And just when you thought it was too tedious, someone was found all mauled by some monster. So there’s that…

 

Never get too comfortable while you’re reading this book, because something will sneak up and surprise you. Also, not recommended reading in the dark, or alone. I had some nice spine tingling moments in the breakroom at work. If someone had opened the door at any point during one particular chapter I would’ve jumped out of my skin.
This is something different and exciting in a world of similar reads. May it even inspire you to read the book it is based on! READ THIS BOOK (and its sequels, I’m starting the second now)!

Leave a Reply

